As privacy has been a hot topic lately, various messaging apps are carrying out several approaches in a way of addressing the soaring demand of the users. In an upcoming version of WhatsApp, it has adopted a feature where users will have more control over the shared media files. With upcoming features, users can share photos and videos in a “View Once” mode.
This new feature will allow the user to send disappearing media files over their conversation threads. However, already other popular messaging apps like Messenger, Instagram have got these features. This idea of disappearing photos and videos was originally adopted by “Snapchat”, and this feature has been adopted by many messaging applications lately.
According to the Report of WABetaInfo, though the disappearing photos and videos can be sent, however, it will not prevent the receivers from taking screenshots of it. The content is made to get deleted once the user viewed the “View Once” messages. Another feature relating to this will be allowing the senders to be able to see whether their content has been viewed in the chat by watching out for an “Opened” message, however, WhatApp will not notify the Sender whether the Receiver has taken screenshots of the disappearing messages or not.
This new feature has been rolled out to the iOS users this Friday whereas it was already there for Android users since late June. Moreover, for android users, this feature is also available in group chat too.